PTP Attendee Interview

Push to Publish 2015

Good morning everyone!

Unfortunately the 2015 Push to Publish conference has come to an end. Thank you to everyone who made it! It was a wonderful experience and very informative when it came to the writing and publishing world. To those of you who couldn’t make it, have no fear, keep a close eye on our Twitter, Facebook, and website to sign up for next years conference.

Apprehensive about spending the money to attend a conference? It is worth it. But don’t just take our word for it. Below is a short interview with Larry Loebell one of this year’s PTP atendees and one of the prize winners of the McGlinn fiction contest. See what he had to say about his time at this years conference.

What do you write?

I write plays, stories (short and longish – I just finished a 17,000 word novella), and I am at work on a novel.  I have written for screen as well.

What brought you to Push to Publish this year?

Although I have been writing for a long time, I have only been writing fiction seriously for about the past 18 months.  I wanted to meet writers working in the Philadelphia area and learn about the book and magazine publishing world, and try my pitch on an agent and editor or two.

What were some of the highlights for you as a writer?

I was one of the prize winners of the McGlinn fiction contest, so it was an honor to be at the award dinner and meet the McGlinn family and Robert Johnson (the contest winner) and hear the kind things Bonnie Jo Campbell had to say about my story. I also took Bonnie’s master class and found her quite inspiring – not to mention fun and funny.  I’ve since read three of her books.  Always a pleasure to be turned on to an author I haven’t read before whose work I instantly love.

I also learned a great deal preparing for and then delivering my agent pitch.

What do you find most valuable about Push to Publish and other writing conferences?

This is my first conference of this type.  I have a lot of experience with play-writing and theater conferences but am new to the world of fiction writing.

What advice would you offer other writers about making the most of their writing conference experience?

I always feel that I can learn new things.  Since I had no specific expectations I found most of the sessions interesting and thought-provoking.

Leave a Reply

