Michelle Wittle On Epic Fails?

Uncategorized

I stopped writing my novel for NaNoWriMo. Take a second with that.
The novel started taking a turn for the worse and this new character popped in to say hello. She wanted a bigger role than I wanted her to have and she was really annoying. I also noticed all my characters use one of their senses. They are either looking at or looking away from something.
I don’t think I’m cut out to write novels.
I can write short stories. Believe it or not, I’ve got some poems I wouldn’t be ashamed of if they got published. I don’t mind walking into my life for some Creative Nonfiction. I love writing plays. But this whole novel thing, I’m not too sure about.
I’m not saying I’ll never write another novel. I still have those two novels sitting around collecting dust and who knows what else. I think for right now, I have to go where my strength is and it is in playwriting.
And who knows. I say this today and tomorrow I could be knee deep in another novel.
I called this post today an epic fail. It isn’t. Every time we read and every time we write, we learn more and more about ourselves and our writing self.
If anyone else feels like he or she has lost his or her way in a novel, my advice is not to do what I’m doing. Stop where you are and insert a new page. Write past the difficult part. No one says when you draft your novel, it has to be sequential.

2 thoughts on “Michelle Wittle On Epic Fails?

  1. You’re right… It’s definitely not an epic fail — or a fail at all, really. It’s just a matter of figuring out your strengths.

Leave a Reply

