Michelle Wittle On Week One of NaNoWriMo

Uncategorized

I wanted to take this blog today and check in with all the NaNoWriMo-ers out there.
So far, I have about 15,000 words and I won’t lie, I’ve had some small rewrites.
As the novel continues to reveal itself to me, I’ve noticed some characters are wanting to be a bigger part of the novel than I first thought. That means I had to go in and add more scenes earlier in the book.
Also, I was having a big problem starting Chapter 7. I started and restarted it about four times before I could hit into the correct way to write the chapter.
Writing a novel is not easy and we need to support one another. So, let me know how you are doing and where you are in your novel.

4 thoughts on “Michelle Wittle On Week One of NaNoWriMo

  1. At 50,000 words this project is the longest I have ever attempted. At this point I am a little over 10,000 words and my challenges are many and varied.
    First I had a hard time keeping all of my characters’ names and relationships clear. I started a flow chart on a piece of paper sized 30″ x 40″. (I did the same thing when I would watch the TV series 24.) I also have a one sentence summary of each chapter to help me not go back and read what I wrote. I have to keep the editing impulse locked away for this month.

    There have been a couple of surprises; although I had an outline I have found that characters don’t believe in outlines and will do things in their own darn time. While I’m thinking about preparation, regardless of the work I did prior to actually starting, I really didn’t know the characters at all until I started to write them into life. A good outcome of this project is that participating in it has given me the mental permission to write. I can say to myself I have to get 2,000 words done before bed and I somehow do it.

    1. I love that you have a flow chart. I keep forgetting my character’s last names which is crazy.
      I like your idea of permission. For me, I tend to want to finish a project and finish it yesterday. With Nano, I have permission to skip a day of writing if I need to skip or I can pace myself. For me, it’s I have 2,000 words, I can go to bed now.
      I’ve also been making notes for myself for revision. Silly things like find out what the name of that road is and when did Starbucks really start becoming popular on the East Coast. I’m proud of myself for writing through these questions and it’s nice I have the permission to look that information up later.
      Keep up the great work.
      Michelle Wittle

Leave a Reply

