Michelle Wittle On NaNoWriMo

Uncategorized

That’s right. I’ve joined the ranks of many others to write a novel in the month of November.

I have no idea what I’m going to write about.

What I’ve decided to do was do some prep work before the month of October runs out and I’m faced with November 1st and a blank page.

I went to Barnes and Noble and they have this lovely little book-like thing called The Writer’s Toolbox (978-0-8118-5429-0) by Jamie Cat Callan. It’s great because it has all these little fun things to help generate ideas.

Armed with my Writer’s Toolbox, I’m making a promise to myself. I will write everyday. I will use the toolbox to help me find a starting point. I will save all the things I write.

I know myself as a writer and for me, I know my ideas and my stories need time to marinate in my mind. I figure, if I prepare and write every day, there will be something that stays with me. Whatever is still in my head come November 1st, will be the start of my novel.

Sometimes all we need to do is just write words on the paper. Here’s to that theory (raising a class of Selzter).

Leave a Reply

