Michelle Wittle On Sharing Our Work

Michelle Wittle On, Writing Tips

Now, as writers we must be prepared to put our work at there and get our work rejected many times. I read somewhere (I think it was in an article by Aimee LaBrie actually) that a piece of work takes twenty places until it finds a home.

 

However, the jury is still out on rewrites.

 

Well, that is because you can’t have a formula for rewrites. Every story is different and each story will need different things. I always look at it like this, if you are mostly happy with your work and you can read it without making too many notes on the page, then it is most likely ready for the next round. Some would say that the next round would be the “hunt for publishers” phase. I am here to tell you that it isn’t.

 

Your story is now ready to be shopped. You take that piece of writing and start showing it around and getting feedback on it.

 

Once you have your feedback, then you can start looking for its home.

 

I always thought that part of the process of writing was taking your work and having people look at it before you finish the final editing. I used to think how would you know if it was good or not if people didn’t read it?

 

But that thinking is only setting your piece up for failure.

 

Think about it this way. You are writing this awesome piece of work. You take it to your friends and they all love it. Then you go back into it and you think it’s awesome, so you start sending it out. The rejection letters come in quickly and you are bummed. Your friends thought it was awesome, you thought it was awesome, so why was it getting rejected so many times?

 

You let your friends’ opinion of your work blind you. If you aren’t one hundred percent sure your piece is good enough, then you shouldn’t let anyone else see it.

 

I send out my stuff completely immature all the time and then I whine because it keeps being rejected. I start looking at it again, with the blinders off, and I see why it got rejected. Of course that character was flat! The setting was completely wrong for the plot! I see it now because I let my friends tell me my story was great when in reality, it still needed a lot of work.

 

So now I urge all of you to take a good look at your work. Reread it until your eyes get crossed. Wait until that story is the best you know you can do. Then and only then can you start letting others see it.

 

Trust me, this will save you a lot of time and will help increase your rejection to acceptance ratio.

Leave a Reply

