Michelle Wittle On Trouble

Michelle Wittle On, Writing Tips

That’s right, I’ve got trouble. Right here in Writing City. I’ve got trouble with a capital T and I don’t know the rest of the song. I never saw the “Music Man”. Which is odd because I feel like I have seen everything else. I have even seen “Cats” (that’s about a hundred and fifty bucks and two hours of my life I can’t get back). But I digress.

 

The story in my head isn’t working. I’ve got about two paragraphs and I am about two seconds away from chalking them up to the computer delete gods. The main guy’s name is wrong. I like the girl’s name. My back is killing me. Yoda already threw his stick at me and told me “Writer you Are not”. I am also off the coke zero.

 

I am basically in writer’s block hell. Care to join me? I hear they have great package deals this time of year.

 

So, what do I do now?

 

Well, I have been writing blogs like a fiend today. I wrote about six of them today. Two on here, the other four are at my website (shameless plug in 5…4…3…2….1 www.mwittle.wordpress.com). I have been texting everyone and his or her mother (that reminds me, yours says hello and she is a bit upset you haven’t called…you might want to get on that). I have even been writing on people’s walls on facebook. I am doing everything to avoid writing this story.

 

Could I possibly have lost my writing mojo?

 

Maybe it’s much simpler than that. I think I am having such a hard time with this story because it isn’t the one I should be telling right now. My characters are just in my head. They haven’t really walked around enough in there to start making their exits onto the computer screen. Maybe I am just hiding this story from the real one I need to write.

 

But that other story is so much harder.

 

So I am avoiding it.

 

Because I am avoiding it, it won’t let me write anything else.

 

So I have to write it.

 

I don’t know where to begin.

 

Do I have to start at the beginning? Can’t I just write what I need to write and let the story take shape from there? Where is it written that a story’s first draft must start at the beginning? It’s my story. I’ll do what I want.

 

But I don’t want to write it.

 

Maybe I’ll check my facebook again. I can go see my word press blog. I can check my email. Perhaps pet my cat. It is getting late and I do have school tomorrow…maybe I should just call it a night.

 

All of this so I don’t have to write my story.

 

So, why do I have to write it? Why can’t I just do what I want?

 

Writers are never in control of their talent. It rules us. I have no choice. I have to write that story.

 

What’s that Yoda? Are you smiling? Or is it just gas?  

2 thoughts on “Michelle Wittle On Trouble

  1. Michelle, I can so relate to what you’ve been writing. I wonder if you’ve abandoned those 2 paragraphs you just spoke about. This is 2 months ago we’re talking about. I just started writing short stories again. I entered one into the Montgomery County Community College annual short story contest last week.

    Then, while I was still hot, I started writing a second story. Like you, I labored over the names of the characters. I wanted my main character to be Jewish but I couldn’t think of a last name so I went online (great way to kill time away from the story, I can’t stand Facebook so I don’t kill time that way) and I found loads of Jewish last names and settled on either Sugarman or Diamond. Sugarman did the trick and I’m on page 3 of the short story.

    Keep blogging and I’ll keep reading your fascinating blogs which very much mirror my own writing quirks.

    1. Thank you so much for all your kind words. It’s funny that you say this…you should read my newest blog!
      Have I abandoned writing? It would never let me do that…no matter how much I fuss at it.
      You keep up the great job of writing.

Leave a Reply

