Michelle Wittle On Fighting Two Careers

Michelle Wittle On

First, let me just say that I am very sorry for not writing in a really long time. I blame the new job really. I have never had to write such detailed lesson plans in my life and I am slowly get used to everything. I am mad at myself because I know that I want to keep focusing on my writing, but I just get sucked into teaching and it just takes over.
I am really sorry and I promise to really work on not letting that world take me away from my other true love (no not him…writing).

With that being said, let me talk about my novel a bit more.

For those of you who have been following me, you know that I have a novel drafted in my computer and I have been very reluntant to go back into it. My novel is another thing that will suck me in and I just don’t have the time to do it. I can’t loose my focus on teaching, nor can I loose it on writing. It is more difficult then I though to juggle both of these careers. They truly are two very demanding careers and I don’t know how others can handle being in the classroom and being a writer. I feel like I can’t juggle the two of them. When my writing career is going great, I feel like I am not giving my students my all. Then when teaching is all smooth sailing, my writing career sits on the back burning silently fuming because I put it aside once again.

Sure, teachers have winter and spring break. We also have the summers. But this winter break, I have only lesson plans running through my head. Spring break I am going to Chicago and the summer…well, I want to continue filling my bacnk account, so who knows what I will be doing.

My fear is I won’t be writing.

So, what do I do? Am I just making a mountain out of that ol’ mole hill? Am I freaking out because I am not in the pattern of teaching again? Will things settle down once a get my teaching flow going?

I don’t have answers to my questions and I know you don’t either. I think I have a lot of factors working here and maybe this is all a test of my will power to become a writer. Maybe this is all the writer god’s plan to make sure I really want to become a published writer.

I know that when I wasn’t working, I kept praying for a job that would give me the stablity I need to do the things I want to do. The only job I got was this teaching job. So maybe that in itself is an answer to my question. I need to settle into teaching again and practice what I preach. No matter how I am feeling that day, I must sit down and write. Even if it is just about my day or a TV show I watched, I have to keep writing.

Resolved:
No matter what, I will continue blogging everyday:)

Ps…I know I was suppose to talk about my novel…but this is just a prime example of what I was going to talk about…you start off with one thing and the words just take you someplace else. The joys of being a writer:) I’ll talk about my novel tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

