Michelle Wittle On Agents

Michelle Wittle On, Writing Tips

I know…I know…I should be writing my memoirs. But I couldn’t help it. I needed sugar and my favorite tea. Also, Tuesday was such a nice day that there was no way I was going to just sit inside chained to my computer. I just had to go on location.

 

So, I grabbed a notebook (but I also went to an office supply store and picked up pens and legal pads) and I headed out to my local bookstore. I started looking through the writing periodicals and I picked up Writer’s Digest. They had the issue devoted to agents and I thought that was pretty cool considering Philadelphia Stories’ Second Annual Push to Publish also has some agents represented and a workshop on the importance of having an agent.

 

The article looked pretty good. They explained the basic premise behind having an agent and they also gave tips on the top ten things not to do when approaching an agent. All of this was pretty basic stuff and not a lot of detail. I saw the article as a good starting off point in learning about agents.

 

Well, they also gave a list of 28 agents who are looking to work with new writers. My mouth dropped when I saw two special names. Jamie Brenner and Adam Chromy from Artists and Artisans were listed. I was first like hey…hey…I know those names. How lucky and fortunate are we that these two people listed in the article will be at the Push to Publish event!

 

It is like I said before; the writing world is a big and small world. Paths tend to cross. I am so thrilled that they agreed to come to the conference and it was more exciting to see them mentioned as agents looking to work with new writers. That is just the thought process behind the whole conference…pushing yourself to get in touch with the people and places you need to in order for you to get your work out there.

 

Here is the website with the article if you would like to read more about this subject http://www.writersdigest.com/article/28-agents-who-want-your-work/.

 

Also, if you are interested in learning more about the Push to Publish Event or would like to register, go to www.philadelphiastories.org.

 

I’ll see you there.

Leave a Reply

